Mini Art School: Effective Graphic and Design Layout #4

Once again, I am put out an assignment for the sake of education. HUZZAH!

Number one.

Untitled

This is my Word Portrait Exercise for the first part of this entry from the Design Basic Index book. The assignment was to pick two words that reflected the voice of the font. For the third part, I had to pic a word that contradicted the  voice.  I tried to make it as friendly as I could because there somethings I wanted to edit, but I’m sure my professor wouldn’t have appreciated. I tried to make the “contradiction” column as contradictory as possible  For example,  the Chiller font. It would make you think zombies or monsters (I chose Zombie Land). Wouldn’t it be creepy to see such cutesy words like “Cutie” coming out of someone’s mouth like that? It gives me the chills (get it chiller?) just thinking about it.

I’ve learned that each font has a way of impacting a message. It depends on a large variety of factors such as height, weight, style and size. People who love fancy fonts, BEWARE. Not all fonts are reader friendly  I certain don’t want to look at a picture or sign that has annoying fonts that bother my eyes and distance me from the main message. I never realized that, according to Krause, that the “gods of legibility, spacing, and aesthetics all frown upon all-caps presentations of most script and hand-lettered typefaces” (p.261). I know that all-caps is used for emphasis, but for the love of god, people who love to use it to flame people on the internet should be banned from having the caps lock on their computers. All-caps can easily become over kill on something that needs a loud entrance, but not to the point it will be seen as an annoyance.

My second part is from the “White Space” book about my deconstruction of the elements and principles of design for a few photographs that I like.

This is a classic perspective painting of an air plan flying above a large body of water. This image follows the principle of movement (number 4) on page 53.  The picture shows multiple directions through the lines and the objects within this small frame. There is the sun, plane, boat, and water. Each item seems to be going in a direct. If you can see, it seems as if the sun is setting, which is the west. Then looking at the boat and the water, they are going opposite directions. The water pushing south and the boat is north. As they say, boats are in favor of northern winds. The last is the plan which is flying west.

This is also the principle of focal point (number 1) (p.50). There are many areas to choose from in this picture, but of course the bigger point is the plane, being that it is the largest in the picture, however each part of the picture has its own importance and people’s eyes can move to different focal points.

At the Vermont state fair, Rutland  (LOC)

From this picture of the family outing to the fair, there are many emotions and focal points here. There are many different elements in this image that stick out. The main element here is space (number one  (p.45).  From this angle, the perspective that the picture shows us is that the fair is small, a bit tight and crowded around this family. However, the truth is that fairs are usually large in size  and this is just one area that the family has explored. They may seem a bit unimpressed by it, but they are probably overwhelmed by  the size.

http://www.loc.gov/pictures/resource/hec.23416/

I think that this is the most haunting and interesting picture that I found so eye catching. Some of the elements and perspective that pops put at me are the textures and contrast.  For textures (element  6) (p.48),  you can see the pillowing of the clouds, the rippling design of the roof, and the crumbling and dry texture of the dirt. Each of these texture show that the area has seem rough times. The pillowing clouds seem to indicate a storm coming. The lack of roof management shows that the building has gone without an owner to maintain it. The texture of the dirt shows how weather has been unforgiving  to the land or that there was no landscaping maintenance for a long time. The next one is the principle of contrast (number 2). The picture may show the setting of houses being build close together, but they are actually far apart. The house also may seem large and inviting, but is hauntingly empty. There is a lot of history that takes place in the setting where this was shot.

http://www.loc.gov/pictures/resource/ppmsca.13191/?co=matpc

This picture of the man and his mule use the principle of perspective (number 6) (p.55) to give it the title, beast of burden. The bushes on the back of the mule, seem imposingly tall and heavy. However, the branching out of the bush pieces are wide-spread and makes it look like a dense load. It is probably lighter than it looks.

5 responses to “Mini Art School: Effective Graphic and Design Layout #4

  1. Hi Mae-Lin. First and foremost, I like your style and have been impressed with your work. You have excellent skills. I also chose the font style project and appreciated how you organized them. Very clear, concise and to the point. I also like how you used red print to organize your views. I felt this help to keep your attention while simplifying the
    content.

    Thank you for sharing the cool B/W plane image and dissecting the directional flow of the image. I would not notice it but glad you did. Keep up the good work!

  2. Mae-Lin: Not to be repetitive, but I too chose to do the font exercise and found the effect font selection can have on a word instructive. The juxtaposed examples can be humorous or even creepy, cutie in chiller font is a bit jarring. I love your selection of the Ambassador’s house in China. It is an ominous picture. There exists almost no sign of life in this picture other than the scrubby bush, which has a twisted and thorny look to it. The bush does supply some contrast as well making the viewer more aware of the lack of human presence. I agree that there is a lot of texture to this picture, one of the many beauties of black and white photography. The following picture in Palestine also has a twisted and thorny tree in the background, dry lifeless areas, and this picture is also chunky with texture; though it has more of a heavy feel as you mentioned than the previous picture.

  3. Mae-Lin
    I thought you chose interesting pictures for this assignment. I especially liked the movement of the airplane picture. After this week’s readings I won’t look at a picture the same way again. I’m looking for movement and focal points all the time. The water in the airplane picture gives it good movement and texture. And while I think the airplane is the focal point, my eye was drawn to the sailboat as well. It was hard for me to decide if the boat was supposed to be a focus in the picture or just there to add perspective.

    I also thought the picture of the family at the fair was an interesting choice. The contrast in the color of the pink dresses against the dirt makes the girls stand out as immediate focal points, which does draw the viewer to their facial expressions. Even though the children aren’t looking at the camera, your eye is still drawn to their faces.

  4. Mae-Lin,
    I thought your post for this particular assignment was very informative and detailed. I did not do this activity but I really liked the first activity with the fonts and especially how you organized it. Some of your results were interesting and opened my eyes to wow I didn’t think of that before. Also, the family picture was great because of the contrast of the colors and the comparison to the background.
    -Marisol

  5. Mae-Lin,
    Gotta give it to ya, your blog reads by far the most like an actual blog =).
    That being said, I like the exercise with the fonts that you did. My favorite was the Dracula one, the lettering really does have that feeling, and the barbecue is just funny.
    I also really liked the mule picture, personally I like black and white photos, and the mule looks like it could disguise as a tree!
    – Matt

Leave a Reply

