Chinese Stir-fried Shredded Potato

So I made this recipe for Chinese Stir-fried Shredded Potatoes!! I adapted it from  octopusgourmet’s (http://wp.me/ppig1-Pk) recipe for “Sichuan- style Stir-fried Potato Strings”.  I didn’t have and Sichuan peppercorns (;_;) :sadface:  because no one in my family likes spicy food but me! (My mother keeps warning me that I’m going to have throat problems from eating too much spicy and hot (temperature-wise) foods…. Bah). For the Chinese, we consider potatoes as veggies, not carbs, but we still have to be careful of eating too many potatoes. 😄  ALso the seasonings can var

So I used a few different ingredients, so everything I used was (links to pictures to save entry space:

4 medium sized Red potatoes, shredded

3-4 large cloves of garlic (sliced)

2 scallions, cut into three seconds and julianned

a little bit of  Chinese Black Vinegar

a little bit of Shaoxing Rice Wine

a little bit of Soy Sauce

a couple of whole peppercorns (black, but the original recipe called for sichuan

(picture here!)

a couple of shakes of Chinese spice salt (composed of black pepper and salt)

pinch or two of white pepper

a circular shake of sea salt

a few tablespoons of canola oil (no it’s not soy bean milk oil, my family likes to save space when we buy whole sale sized oil bottles by pouring them it into smaller bottles. And it’s not expired oil)

First I washed and shredded the potatoes, then soaked them in cold water for about 30 minutes for the starches to get out.

then heat the pan till smoke comes out (but I think didn’t heat it enough, it smoked a bit, but not that much) then add black pepper corns. (be careful of splattering oil!)

DSC00601

 

take them out after frying for a minute, then add garlic and scallions

DSC00603

 

once the garlic is golden-brown, then add the potatoes!

DSC00604 DSC00606

(look at those taste garlic chips)

Stir them and then add your seasonings, I added white pepper,  the wine, soy sauce, and a little bit of vinegar.   To make mine spicy, I added spicy ramen soup powder that I had.

 

DSC00611

 

and these are the final products (mine is darker in color because of the red ramen soup powder)

DSC00612 DSC00613

 

Final Verdict: They were light and tasty. The potatoes were a bit crispy and yet soft.

I need to get the real sichuan peppercorns, I want that authentic kick! It was also a bit light, but it was still good.  I’ll probably use a little bit less oil.

Leave a Reply

